Distracted Driving

The Council's Distracted Driving Initiative is in collaboration with several agencies in our community. This program is designed to prevent distracted driving in Catawba County. The initiative consists of a Preventing Distracted Driving Video Contest for high school students to create videos showing the dangers of distracted driving. Each spring, the contest takes place and is concluded with a Red Carpet Event where the videos are shown and a winner is announced. This year, the Council will lead a county-wide initiative to not only reach high school students but all community members. Many car accidents and fatalities can be avoided by preventing distracted driving. Help us make a difference!

The Preventing Distracted Driving Contest is open to all High School aged students located in Catawba County. Students must download the free app EverDrive, which monitors their braking, acceleration, speeding, cornering, and phone distraction each time they are in the vehicle. Students must report their scores to their school resource officer at the end of each month and the student with the highest score gets a $10 gift card. The student with the highest score overall at the end of April will receive a $50 gift card. The school with the most involvement in the contest will be awarded $200! 
When are scores due?
November 30th or December 1st (for the month of November)
January 4th or 5th (for the month of December)
February 1st or 2nd (for the month of January)
March 1st or 2nd (for the month of February)
March 27th or 28th (for the month of March)


*For High School students ONLY!*

For more information about Preventing Distracted Driving, please contact: Jordan Ledford, Executive Director, at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Preventing Distracted Driving is in partnership with: Catawba County Government, Catawba County Child Protection and Fatality Prevention Team, Catawba County Youth Council, Catawba Valley Medical Center, Council on Adolescents of Catawba County, Action Limousine, Allen Finley Advertising, Dale Earnhardt Chevrolet, Safe Kids Catawba County Coalition, State Farm Insurance Agent - Sig Holcomb III, The SALT Block Foundation, Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota, Catawba County Schools, Hickory Public Schools, Newton-Conover City Schools, Catawba County United Way, and Drum-Willis-Reynolds Funeral Home and Crematory.

Make a Donation

Make a Donation Online

PayPal Logo

Board of Directors

  • Chair - Randy Bergman
  • Vice Chair - Honey Estrada
  • Treasurer - Mary Morrison
  • Secretary - Jennifer Beane
  • Kevin von Allmen
  • Sandy Costner
  • Cindy Boger
  • Cat McCrary
  • Ron Carson
  • Dalan Garcia
  • Zack King
  • Korey Fisher-Wellman
  • Justin Levey

Follow Us

Follow us on

Follow us on 

Contact Us

1120 Fairgrove Church Rd SE Suite 22
Hickory, NC 28602

Phone- 828.322.4591
Fax- 828.322.2675
Email- info@coacatawba.org